Scholarship Opportunity Detail Page

Previous Page  |  New Search  |  Browse All

Scholarship Commemorating Drs. Willie Hobbs Moore, Harry L. Morrison & Arthur BC Walker

Scholarship Provider: National Society of Black Physcists
Application Deadline: 01/13/2012
Description: Dr. Moore was the first female African American to earn a Ph.D. degree in physics. from the University of Michigan where she worked for several years as a research scientist.  Afterward, she spent her career working for Ford Motor Company.

Dr. Morrison was a legendary figure in the field of mathematical statistical physics, and an mentored generations of African American physicists. He was a physics faculty member at UC Berkeley for almost30 years, and an assistant dean until his death in 2002. He was strong student advocate and in the early 70's he advocated for degree-granting Black Studies Programs.

Dr. Walker a uniquely brilliant x-ray spectroscopist. He applied his science to solar imaging, and was the first to report x-ray images of the Sun. He built many x-ray telescopes for space flight missions. He advocated for diversity of the student body and faculty at Stanford University, where he was a professor for almost 30 years.
Scholarship Amount: $1000
Scholarship Website:
School Type Requirement: Four Year College
Applicant Class Requirement: Sophomore or Junior
Minority Status Requirement: African American
Citizenship Requirement: U.S. Citizen
Awards Given: 3
Length of Award: One Time Award
Other Comments: Declared physics majors in their junior or senior year are eligible to receive this scholarship. Applicants should be either sophomores or juniors. NSBP anticipates making three $1,000 awards. The scholarship is NOT renewable.

Scholarship Opportunity Contact Information

Primary Contact: Scholarship Committee Chair
National Society of Black Physicists
1110 N. Glebe Road
Arlington, VA 22201
Phone: 703-536-4207
Fax: 703-536-4203
about the Nucleus - terms - privacy - faq - sitemap