PICUP Virtual Meeting Archive

PICUP Spring Webinar Series: Computational Thinking in K-16 STEM Education

Thursday, February 25 at 6:00pm PT | 7:00pm MT | 8:00pm CT | 9:00pm ET

Join Zoom Meeting
https://csuchico.zoom.us/j/86333107371?pwd=Q0ppczV3dXY5ZDIrUTE3UFpzeEpYZz09
Meeting ID: 863 3310 7371
Passcode: PICUP

Guest Presenter: Terrie Galanti, University of North Florida

How do we inspire our STEM students to perceive computation as a creative and innovative endeavor? In her talk titled "Meaning Making in Computational Thinking", Dr. Terrie Galanti draws upon her experiences as an electrical engineer, high school mathematics teacher, and K-16 STEM Education researcher to ponder logical thinking though the eyes of the learner. As they respond to questions that make computational thinking visible, students can grow to see themselves as productive STEM thinkers.

Not available next Thursday evening? The webinar will be recorded for your viewing pleasure.

PICUP Spring Webinar Series: Computation in Undergrad Physics with an Emphasis on Using MATLAB

When: Thursday, January 28 at 6:00pm PT | 7:00pm MT | 8:00pm CT | 9:00pm ET
Where: Join Zoom Meeting
https://csuchico.zoom.us/j/89592978602?pwd=UTRENWhQWHRDdFNqMElzdWJ1Zk1qQT09
Meeting ID: 895 9297 8602
Passcode: PICUP
Guest Presenters: Michele McColgan, Siena College and Duncan Carlsmith, UW Madison

The meeting will start with short presentations, and then we'll have time for questions and discussion in a colloquial setting. The presenters use MATLAB in their courses, and this meeting will provide a good opportunity to see the functionality that MATLAB affords. However, the presenters' approach to integrating computation is relevant generally; thus, this meeting should be of great interest, even if you are not a MATLAB user.

PICUP Back-to-School Webinar: Tools of the Trade

Wednesday, August 12th at 7 PM EDT / 6 PM CDT / 5 PM MDT / 4 PM PDT

Join us for a special back-to-school PICUP webinar where we'll briefly explore a number of free tools that are available to help you deliver computational activities in your physics courses:  Jupyter Notebooks (local and in the cloud), Spyder, Octave/Matlab, GlowScript/VPython, p5.js, and Excel/Google spreadsheets. After being introduced to these platforms, you'll be able to ask questions and schedule follow-up learning opportunities based on the platform(s) that interests you most.

NOTE: The webinar will be recorded and posted on the PICUP site for viewing for those who are unable to attend the meeting on Wednesday, August 12.

Link to join the Zoom meeting: https://ksu.zoom.us/j/94833674067

PICUP Virtual Conference

This conference featured 18 presentations and 5 panel discussions that provided you with tips, tricks, and best practices to help you teach physics online!

Dates: Friday, June 26 and Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Location: On your computer!

PICUP Spring Webinar Series: Online Trajectories

Thursday, May 21 @ 7pm ET | 6pm CT | 5pm MT | 4pm PT

Featured Presenters:  Rebecca Vieyra, Ruth Chabay, Bruce Sherwood, and Ariel Paul.

Now that we've survived the half-online semester of spring 2020, we can start to make more proactive plans for modified delivery in fall 2020. Whether we're planning to teach online, meet with students six feet apart, or evaluate our options for teaching with social distancing, there's a lot we can learn from each other to deliver the best physics experience to our students. Come hear from colleagues and developers who have plenty to share about new approaches to our classes, and specifically about teaching computation on-line.

PICUP Spring Webinar Series: Failure Modes for Online Physics

Wednesday, April 29, 2020 at 8pm EDT | 7pm CDT | 6pm MDT | 5pm PDT

In our rushed move to teaching physics online, it was probably inevitable that some things were going to go wrong. Now that we have been at it for a while, we are all starting to see just how something we had hoped would help our students may have instead confused them, or things that we had hoped would simplify the logistics of teaching virtually have actually made them more complex. In homage to the engineers, we're searching for failure modes in our online teaching. Join us for a few examples of where, how, and why a topic, a homework, or a lab hasn't worked out the way we envisioned and what we've learned from these stumbles.

PICUP Spring Webinar Series: Our transition to virtual instruction: How are we doing so far?

Thursday, April 2 at 7 PM EDT / 6 PM CDT / 5 PM MDT / 4 PM PDT

This webinar will provide an opportunity for you to share your approach to conducting online courses-what may or may not be working, point others to effective resources you have discovered, or to just listen and possibly PICUP(!) some good ideas.

PICUP Webinar: Why Integrate Computation?

Tuesday, March 10th at 9 PM EDT / 8 PM CDT / 7 PM MDT / 6 PM PDT

It's been almost a decade since the AAPT formally recommended "that every physics and astronomy department  provide its majors and potential majors with appropriate instruction in computational physics." In this webinar we'll explore why young physicists need computational skills and why faculty need to integrate computation deeper into their undergraduate coursework. Join the PICUP for a panel discussion focused on the question "Why integrate computation?"

Have a question you'd like addressed? You can submit it early at https://forms.gle/AFwSzZDdZdLQu9zC9

NOTE: The webinar will be recorded and posted on the PICUP site for viewing for those who are unable to attend the meeting on Tuesday, March 10.

Link to join the Zoom meeting: https://csuchico.zoom.us/j/794772751

SPECIAL! PICUP Community Synchronous Meeting (online via zoom)

Friday, December 6 at:
11 AM Pacific / 12 PM Mountain / 1 PM Central / 2 PM Eastern / 8 PM GMT

ACM SIGHPC Education Chapter Webinar on Incorporating Computation in the Physics Curriculum, featuring Robert Panoff (Shodor Education Foundation) and Kelly Roos (Bradley U. / PICUP)

To participate via zoom: Join URL: https://zoom.us/j/342397220 Meeting ID: 342-397-220

SPECIAL! PICUP Community Synchronous Meeting (online via zoom)

Thursday, November 14 at:
12 PM Pacific / 1 PM Mountain / 2 PM Central / 3 PM Eastern / 8 PM GMT

ACM SIGHPC Education Chapter Webinar on Incorporating Computation in the Physics Curriculum, featuring Larry Engelhardt (Francis Marion U. Physics) and Richard Gass (U. Cincinnati Physics)

To participate via zoom: Join URL: https://zoom.us/j/811782049 Meeting ID: 811-782-049

Next 10 »