Welcome to PICUP!

View the PICUP Collections - materials and support for integrating computation:

Exercise Sets
Browse
Author
Faculty Commons
Explore
Contribute


Get Started!

  • PICUP Spring Webinar Series: Computational Thinking in K-16 STEM Education

    Thursday, February 25 at 6:00pm PT | 7:00pm MT | 8:00pm CT | 9:00pm ET

    Join Zoom Meeting
    https://csuchico.zoom.us/j/86333107371?pwd=Q0ppczV3dXY5ZDIrUTE3UFpzeEpYZz09
    Meeting ID: 863 3310 7371
    Passcode: PICUP

    Guest Presenter: Terrie Galanti, University of North Florida

    How do we inspire our STEM students to perceive computation as a creative and innovative endeavor? In her talk titled "Meaning Making in Computational Thinking", Dr. Terrie Galanti draws upon her experiences as an electrical engineer, high school mathematics teacher, and K-16 STEM Education researcher to ponder logical thinking though the eyes of the learner. As they respond to questions that make computational thinking visible, students can grow to see themselves as productive STEM thinkers.

    Not available next Thursday evening? The webinar will be recorded for your viewing pleasure.

  • PICUP stipends to support computation-based curricular changes

    $$$
    Dates: February 1, 2021-April 15, 2021
    Location: online

    We will offer up to 10 stipends of $5,000 each per application for faculty members who require additional support to make changes to their Physics curriculum. Applications are due April 15 by 5pm ET.
  • 2021 Virtual Capstone Conference

    PICUP Conference
    Dates: August 11-13, 2021
    Location: online

    If you have attended a half-day, full-day, or week-long PICUP workshop, please join us! In this conference, PICUPers will share what we have accomplished, and we will discuss how to move forward into the future.
  • Other workshops and events

  • Check out our "Community" page

PICUP Member Spotlight

Michele Montgomery
How/what inspired you to get into teaching computation?

I don't teach computation as a course. However, I do include some computation assignments in general education courses like Astronomy to… more>
Join the PICUP Community on Slack for in-depth discussions on computation in physics courses

If you have any questions, we would love to hear from you.