home - login - register

US - AAPT Physics Education Research Topical Group (PERTG)

Recent Forum Posts

On July 19, Eric Brewe posted PERC Organizers Looking for Snack and Chat organizers

On June 26, Alexis Knaub posted Grief Literacy Workshop - July 9

On 2020-07-19, Geoff Potvin posted PERTG Summer 2020 Newsletter

[All posts] - [Add a post]


  • Henderson, Rachel
  • Price, Edward
  • Rosenblatt, Rebecca
  • Scanlon, Erin
  • Traxler, Adrienne
  • Wilcox, Bethany
  • Zimmerman, Charlotte

Contact Information

Erin Scanlon is Chair of PERLOC  for 2021. Adrienne Traxler is Vice-chair for 2021.

John Buncher, ex officio, is Chair of the AAPT Committee on Research in Physics Education.

The Physics Education Research Topical Group (PERTG) is a Topical Group within the American Association of Physics Teachers, formed for those with a special interest in research on the teaching and learning of physics.

The Physics Education Research Leadership and Organizing Council (PERLOC) is elected by PERTG to serve as the representative body for community decision-making.

Click on links in the tabs at the top or the sidebar to the right to find more information about PERLOC, upcoming events, and more.

PERTG Membership within AAPT

For AAPT members to be part of the PERTG, they may self-identify and pay an annual fee of $40 (free for students). The fee is paid at the time of renewing AAPT membership and will be deposited in a special account to fund PERLOC activities/functions/programs. Click here to apply.

Funds will be used for:
  • costs related to the annual Physics Education Research Conference (PERC), such as funds for invited speakers from outside PER and publication costs for the PERC Proceedings,
  • financial support for PER-Central, the online clearinghouse containing links to PER-based materials, research results and publications, and discussion fora
  • general support for PER activities within AAPT.

PERLOC Roles and Responsibilities

Erin Scanlon (2019-2022) Chair
Adrienne Traxler (2020-2023) Vice Chair
Edward Price (2019-2022) Treasurer, PERTG MiniGrants
Charlotte Zimmerman (2021-2023) PERCoGS Rep, PERTG MiniGrants
Bethany Wilcox (2020-2023) PERC Liaison
Rebecca Rosenblatt (2021-2024) PERC Liaison
Rachel Henderson (2021-2024) GPER Liaison
John Buncher (2021-2022) Ex-officio/RiPE Chair

For contact information click on the relevant link in the membership list at right.