APS Excellence in Physics Education Award
November 2019

Education Prize Logo
Science SPORE Prize
November 2011

NSF Logo
The Open Source Physics Project is supported by NSF DUE-0442581.


About   -   Terms of Use   -   Privacy Policy   -   Java FAQ   -   Acknowledgements

The Open Source Physics project makes use of a number of software packages released under open source licenses. In particular, we acknowledge the following authors:

  • Fast Fourier Transformation (FFT) package jnt.fft by Bruce Miller.
  • Java expression parser package org.nfunk.jep by Nathan Funk.
  • The Function Plotter program by Yanto Suryono is the basis for the OSP ContourPlot and SurfacePlot components.
  • High-order Differential equation solvers by Andrew Gusev and Yuri B. Senichenkov at Saint Petersburg Polytechnic University, Russia.

The Open Source Physics project is indebted to Leigh Brookshaw for publishing his graphics package under the GNU GPL license. Portions of this package were used in developing our own plotting components. Many thanks to Paul Mutton for making the EpsGraphics2D package available under the GPL license. This package makes it easy to create high-quality EPS graphics for use in documents and papers.

The Open Source Physics project is supported in part by the National Science Foundation grants DUE-0126439 and DUE-0442481. These grants have helped us to write books, to provide workshops at professional meetings, and to develop Open Source Physics curricular materials for distribution on the Internet.

Davidson College has supported the Open Source Physics project in many ways, including the hosting of Open Source Physics workshops and by providing an academic home for the OSP project investigators. Open Source Physics would not be possible without this generous support.

Davidson College

OSP Projects:
Open Source Physics - EJS Modeling
Physlet Physics
Physlet Quantum Physics
STP Book