home - login - register

PERC 2008 Abstract Detail Page

Previous Page  |  New Search  |  Browse All

Abstract Title: Does PER-Based Instruction Help Underrepresented Groups Succeed, and How Can It Do So Better?
Abstract: An issue of widespread concern among physicists is the low representation of women and certain ethnic minorities in physics. As PER seeks to improve physics learning for all, we must ask whether PER-based instructional methods can also help ameliorate (or at least not aggravate) the underrepresentation of these groups. This poster session will facilitate a forward-looking discussion of how PER-based instruction can best foster the success of these groups by bringing together insights from work in three areas: (1) evaluating the success of underrepresented students with PER-based methods, (2) identifying barriers to these students' success in ordinary instructional environments, and (3) existing programs (not necessarily PER-based) aimed at improving the retention and learning of these underrepresented groups. After work in these three areas is presented and discussed, all attendees will participate in brainstorming future work that will identify strengths and weaknesses in the current PER-based methods, with the ultimate goal of developing improved instructional methods.
Abstract Type: Targeted Poster Session

Author/Organizer Information

Primary Contact: Catherine H. Crouch
Swarthmore College
Department of Physics
500 College Ave
Swarthmore, PA 19081
Phone: 610/328-8386
Fax: 610328-7895
Co-Author(s)
and Co-Presenter(s)
see below

Targeted Poster Session Specific Information

Poster 1 Title: The Persistence of the Gender Gap in Introductory Physics
Poster 1 Authors: Steven Pollock and Lauren Kost
Physics Department, University of Colorado
steven.pollock@colorado.edu, Lauren.Kost@colorado.edu
Poster 2 Title: Gender Differences in Both Force Concept Inventory and Introductory Physics Performance
Poster 2 Authors: Kenneth Heller and Jennifer Docktor
Department of Physics
University of Minnesota
heller@physics.umn.edu, docktor@physics.umn.edu
Poster 3 Title: Gender and Student Achievement with Peer Instruction
Poster 3 Authors: Catherine Crouch, Department of Physics, Swarthmore College
ccrouch1@swarthmore.edu
Mercedes Lorenzo, IES Universidad Laboral, Albacete, Spain
mercepolo@hotmail.com
Jessica Watkins and Eric Mazur
Division of Engineering and Applied Science
Harvard University
watkinsj@seas.harvard.edu, mazur@physics.harvard.edu
Poster 4 Title: Gender Differences in Student Responses to Peer Instruction
Poster 4 Authors: Jessica Watkins and Eric Mazur
Division of Engineering and Applied Science
Harvard University
watkinsj@seas.harvard.edu, mazur@physics.harvard.edu
Poster 5 Title: Improving Learning for Underrepresented Groups in Introductory Physics for Engineering Majors
Poster 5 Authors: Suzanne White Brahmia
Director, Extended Physics Program
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey
brahmia@rci.rutgers.edu
Poster 6 Title: Learning and Success in Introductory Physics for Black Science Students in the Post-Apartheid Era
Poster 6 Authors: Saalih Allie
University of Cape Town
Cape Town, South Africa
Saalih.Allie@uct.ac.za