The PhysTEC website will be unavailable Friday evening through Saturday afternoon as electrical work occurs in the American Center of Physics server room. Down time will begin at 6PM Eastern Time on Friday. Service is expected to resume by 6PM on Saturday, July 30.

2013 Physics Teacher Education Coalition Conference Schedule

Chesapeake I
Chesapeake II
Chesapeake III

Preparing the Next Generation of Physics Teachers

Registration Hours

Friday, March 15
7:30pm - 9:00pm
Optional reception and registration
Potomac Terrace
Saturday, March 16
8:00am - 8:45am
Breakfast and Registration
Chesapeake Gallery
8:45am - 10:00am Dr. Richard Steinberg
10:00am - 10:30am
Strand: Induction and Mentoring Course Reform Innovative Practice
10:30am - 12:00pm John Keller Eugenia Etkina Laurie Langdon, Laird Kramer, Amy Robertson, Andrew Duffy, Ed Price
12:00pm - 2:00pm Michael Marder
2:00pm - 3:30pm Ron Henderson, Gay Stewart, Cody Sandifer Rene-Michelle Goertzen Christopher Bauer
3:30pm - 4:00pm
4:00pm - 5:30pm TIR Panel, Discussant: Jon Anderson Fred Goldberg Aaron Osowiecki, Jesse Southwick
7:00pm - 9:00pm
Contributed Poster session and Reception
Chesapeake Gallery
Sunday, March 17
7:30am - 8:30am
Breakfast and Registration
Welcoming remarks from APS Executive Officer, Kate Kirby
Chesapeake Gallery
Strand: Recruitment and Retention Sustaining Reform Preparing the Next Generation: Issues Beyond the Classroom
8:30am - 10:00am Panel: Mary Walker, Arlene Russell, Carol Rulli, Willy Hunter

Discussant: Mary Kirchhof
Laurie Langdon, Laird Kramer Simonetti, King, Harrell
10:00am - 10:30am
10:30am - 12:00pm Mel Sabella, Amy Robertson, Jennie Passehl, Kara Weisenburger, Andrea Van Duzor Gay Stewart, John Stewart, Mary Kirchhoff
How Can You Contribute to the Public Discourse on Teacher Preparation?
Panel: Helen Quinn, Francis Slakey, Michael Marder, Paul Cottle

Discussant: Stamatis Vokos
12:00pm - 1:45pm Catherine Good
1:45pm - 3:15pm Laurie Langdon, Julie Andrew
Transforming Physics Departments
Panel: Talat Rahman, Ron Henderson, Jim Sellway, Laird Kramer

Discussant: Ted Hodapp
Kurt Fletcher
3:15pm - 3:45pm
3:45pm - 5:00pm
Closing Plenary: NGSS and Physics/Chemistry Teacher Education
Panel: Helen Quinn, Melanie Cooper, Andy Jackson, Ramon Lopez

Discussant: Noah Finkelstein