home - login - register

US - AAPT Physics Education Research Topical Group (PERTG)

Recent Forum Posts

On October 14, Ben Van Dusen posted Re: Storage solution for concept inventory data?

On October 14, Michael Eads posted Storage solution for concept inventory data?

On October 1, Mel Sabella posted Re: PERTG grants due October 22, 2015

[All posts] - [Add a post]


  • Atkins, Leslie
  • Holmes, Natasha
  • Kanim, Steve
  • Kryjevskaia, Mila
  • Quan, Gina
  • Sabella, Mel
  • Vokos, Stamatis
  • Zavala, Genaro

Contact Information

Leslie Atkins Elliott is chair of the PERLOC group (ljatkins at csuchico.edu).

Steve Kanim is vice chair.

Stamatis Vokos is treasurer.

Mila Kryjevskaia, ex officio, as chair of the AAPT Committee on Research in Physics Education.

The Physics Education Research Topical Group (PERTG) is a Topical Group within the American Association of Physics Teachers, formed for those with a special interest in research on the teaching and learning of physics.

The Physics Education Research Leadership and Organizing Council (PERLOC) is elected by PERTG to serve as the representative body for community decision-making.

Click on links in the tabs at the top or the sidebar to the right to find more information about PERLOC, upcoming events, and more.

PERTG Membership within AAPT

For AAPT members to be part of the PERTG, they may self-identify and pay an annual fee of $40 ($15 for students). The fee is paid at the time of renewing AAPT membership and will be deposited in a special account to fund PERLOC activities/functions/programs. Click here to apply.

Funds will be used for:
  • costs related to the annual Physics Education Research Conference (PERC), such as funds for invited speakers from outside PER and publication costs for the PERC Proceedings,
  • financial support for PER-Central, the online clearinghouse containing links to PER-based materials, research results and publications, and discussion fora
  • general support for PER activities within AAPT.